Learning Brazilian Guitar Forums Introductions Γεια σας from Greece !

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

My warmest hello from … Greece (here at last!).

Renato, your “labor of love” about Brazilian guitar is a “small palace” that needs urgently to be discovered by so many more guitarists , you have created an excellent guitar music corner with devotion , great talent and exceptional analytical and arranging skills !

My passion for solo fingerstyle arrangements brought me here as you are the 1st one to ever … dare to arrange 2 of my all time favorite Brazilian tunes (“Waters of March” & “Clube da esquina 2”) that I could not find anywhere else and considering the result you were highly successful !

My name is Chris , I studied classical guitar for about 10 years and in nowadays I still struggle to retain my technique up to an advanced level, as my main profession is electrical engineering and guitar remains my most favorable hobby (giving me the chance to explore other possible guitar music genres including jazz, acoustic guitar or pop/rock).

I started about 2 decades ago to create my own solo arrangements, as it was rather difficult to find interesting , advanced pieces from favorite artists (additionally to classical music), so until now I have made and uploaded (in various sites) more than 50 ones (from Ennio Morricone to Philip Glass or Burt Bacharah , from Pat Metheny or Vince Guaraldi to Ravel or Prokofiev and from Kate Bush , Joni Mitchell or Julie London to Marvin Gaye , Nick Drake , Beach Boys or even King Crimson & Frank Zappa , obviously selecting tunes that no arrangements were existing!)

I have to admit that it’s not at all an easy task , in most cases i started with the highest ambition to include all voices , in the same key , without “stupid” simplifications and in the end it was so absolutely necessary to make many compromises in order to have a … playable arrangement that fits to the instrument !